Men’s Olympic Qualification Tournament

12 men’s teams will be competing at the London Olympic games next July-August, of which 8 have already qualified: Italy, Serbia, Croatia, Hungary, the USA, Australia, Kazakhstan and Great Britain as a host nation.

4 remaining vacancies will be filled at the Olympic Men’s Qualification tournament to be held Edmonton, Canada from 1-8 April.

A maximum of 12 teams can participate in this event.

Montenegro, Germany, Greece, Spain, Romania and Canada are eligible after their respective continental qualifications and all have confirmed their participation.

Other eligible representatives from Asia (2 teams) and Americas (2 teams) are yet to confirm their participation.

There won’t be a team from Africa and Oceania is represented by Australia.

More teams from Europe may enter in the event the Americas’, Asian and definitely African vacancies are not filled.

Prior to the Beijing Olympiad-08, at the Qualification tournament in Oradea, Romania, there were two sensations: Russia failed to qualify and Canada qualified by beating a host nation Romania. Both outcomes were unexpected.

The upcoming event in Edmonton will be interesting and tough as there are at least 2 good teams that are going to miss the London Olympic games 2012.

About Erkin Эркин Shagaev Шагаев
European, world, Olympic champion, two times World Cup winner Чемпион Европы, мира, Олимпийских игр, двукратный обладатель Кубка мира

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: